Now that my son is getting a little bit more independent and doesn’t need Mom every single second, I think that I am slowly finding my inspiration to cook again.  Cooking GOOD gluten-free meals takes a little bit of thought and effort, and in truth for the last 6 months, I really haven’t had time for much of either.  Last weekend waffles struck my fancy; I’ve used Bob’s Red Mill GF Biscuit mix and it makes great waffles, and I’ve also tried Ginger Lemon Girl’s Belgian Waffle Recipe.  They were also delicious, but they were a little crispy throughout and not quite as soft in the middle as I would like.  So not only did I decide I wanted to have waffles I decided I wanted to adapt my family pancake recipe to be gluten-free and waffle worthy.

This recipe turned out amazing; my husband gobbled them up uttering compliments all the while telling me I should make a recipe book.  These were absolutely the best waffles I’ve had in ages.  Of course we ate them with bacon and fresh blueberry sauce, the only thing that could have made them better was fresh whipped cream!

As my eczema has been bad lately, and my milk consumption seems to affect my son’s eczema, I have been limiting my dairy products and drinking rice milk.  I made this recipe using half rice milk and half 1% milk with great results – I therefore assume that you could use any non-dairy substitute.  Similarly, you could likely replace my flour mixture with 2 cups of gluten-free flour mix with similar results, but personally I like to custom blend quantities for each individual recipe.  If you try it out with a different non-dairy product or gluten-free flour, let me know how it works out for you.

GF Waffles

Gluten-Free Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup Millet flour
  • 1/4 cup Brown Rice flour
  • 1/4 cup Sweet Rice flour
  • 1/4 cup Potato starch
  • 1/4 cup Tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp Xantham gum
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt
  • 3 eggs, seperated
  • 1-3/4 cups milk or non-dairy substitute
  • 4 tbsp vegetable oil

Directions:

  • Preheat your waffle iron.
  • Mix (I like to use a hand whisk) flours, xantham gum, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt together in a medium bowl and set aside.
  • Whisk the egg whites until stiff peaks form (this only takes a few minutes in a stand mixer), set aside.
  • Mix egg yolk, milk and oil together.
  • Add dry ingredients to the milk mixture and mix.
  • Using a rubber spatula, fold the egg whites into your batter, adding about a third of the egg whites at a time.  Egg whites do not need to be totally uniform in the batter, we are trying to add extra “fluff” to the batter.
  • Spray your waffle iron as necessary, pour the batter by heaping 1/4 cups and cook according to your waffle iron directions.  These waffles do not puff as much as regular waffles, so you need to add MORE batter than you are used to if you want to get the nice full crispy waffle wells that hold the butter and syrup so well.  Trust me having a tiny bit of spillover while you figure out the exact quantity for your iron is totally worth it.
  • Enjoy!

Gluten-Free Waffles on Foodista

