I had never had blondies until a few years ago – I never realized that they were basically caramely brownies.  I’m sure if I had known that I would have tried them and definitely made them much earlier in my baking  life.  Since it was one of the last things that I learned to make before going gluten-free, it was something that I definitely wanted to add to my repetoire of gluten-free baking skills.

If you, like myself, have a bit of a chocolate addiction these Blondies are for you.  Although the delightful caramel richness of blondies should be enough on their own, the truth is I needed the chocolate too.  You could mix things up and replace some of the chocolate chips – the original recipe ALSO called for walnuts, pecans and peanut butter chips, but I voted for all semi-sweet chocolate chips.   I would like to note however, this particular recipe is NOT for you if you are watching your waistline…its full of butter, sugar and all the things that make baked goods so mmm mmm good!

GF chocolate chip blondies

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Blondies
(Adapted from 500 Best Cookies, Bars & Squares by Esther Brody)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup millet flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca flour
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2/3 cup butter
  • 2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. Whisk the first 8 ingredients together and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl beat the butter and brown sugar until smooth and creamy.
  4. Add eggs, one at a time, to wet ingredients, beating until incorporated.
  5. Stir vanilla into the wet ingredients.
  6. Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix.
  7. Stir chocolate chips into batter – it will be quite thick.
  8. Spread batter evenly into prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  9. Allow pan to cool completley on a wire rack before cutting.
  10. Enjoy – and try not to eat too much at once!
