I recently posted this on Facebook and thought I would share it here…

To those of you on a Gluten-Free diet, you MUST, I repeat MUST try the “onion potato bread” and “flax potato bread” made by the “6th Ave Bread & Deli“.

Although this is not an exclusivley Gluten-Free shop, the pans are all sterilized each evening and the bread is cooked first thing in the morning; the staff will caution you if it is your first purchase, to ensure you understand the potential for contamination. All that being said, I have had no problems with this bread and once I realized that, I’ve been eating it like candy.

The loaf looks like a large french bread, the texture is soft and light and chewy, and here’s the kicker, although it tastes delicious toasted it is equally as good without toasting. And if you eat Gluten-Free bread, you know what a feat that is. Oh yes, and did I mention the large and delicious gluten-free loaf of bread costs only $3.99.

This small shop is on 6th ave in New Wesminster, next to the Galloway’s and across from the parkade for Royal Centre (702c 6th Ave, New Westminster).

I’ll try and remember to take a picture to attach here, but no promises.

Seriously, I thought I died and went to heaven when I tried this bread…I’ve already made two trips to New West, infant in tow, for the sole purpose of buying this bread (it freezes well so I buy a lot when I go!).

Finally, last time I was in, they told me they were now making hamburger buns on saturday morning, but they are first come, first serve, so if you live out that way it may be worth a morning trip!

Let me know if you try this bread…and how much you love it!!
HAPPY EATING