It’s been far too long since I wrote, and I know the posts have been far and few between. For that I apologize; the truth is, I’m pregnant and for the first few months, I was tired and now that I’m in the second trimester, I am just so overwhelmed (in a good way) with the excitement and preparations for the arrival of our little one, that the blog has just slid to a back burner.

Of course, I have still been cooking and eating and enjoying the deliciousness of food. In fact I have pictures on my camera, just AWAITING a post, but we will start with Thanksgiving. Canadian thanksgiving was almost a month ago, but now I can post this just in time for those of you searching the web for recipes.

I have to be honest, this was my best gluten-free Thanksgiving yet, I hadn’t realized how boring it had become for me, until I decided that this year, I was going to make gravy and stuffing and take it along with me to my parents’ and mother-in-laws homes when we had dinner. Why should I suffer through a dry, bland dinner when I was completley capable of making my own seasonings.

Rejoice my friends – it is possible to have an absolutely amazing holiday dinner without feeling sick or deprived!

Stuffing

Since I was going to undertake the task of making stuffing from scratch (a new feat for me) I started off by making some bread from a Kinni-kwick bread and bun mix (which I rarely ever do), which smelled delicious and rose beautifully. Once cooled, I used Shauna’s recipe for Gluten-Free Stuffing which smelled delicious and tastes absolutely divine, especially when smothered with GF Gravy – I thought I had died and gone to gluten-free heaven. The recipe did make a huge batch, so I ziploc baggied the leftovers and popped them in the freezer, hopefully they will still be tasty come Christmas dinner.

Gravy

How I never conceived that I could make my own gravy with a little bit of rice flour roux and chicken stock, I will never know, but now that I am aware of this secret, I shall never go without gravy again. Once again, I thank Shauna’s Gluten-Free Gravy for enhancing my every holiday meal from this point forward.

Dessert

In my books, it wouldn’t be a holiday dinner, without a fantastic desert, preferably with a pumpkin theme. I was also craving cheesecake and found a lovely (and simple, might I add) recipe on the Kraft Canada Website for Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie. The only barrier? Of course, the graham cracker crumb crust.

I replaced the Graham Cracker Crumb crust with Mi-Del Gluten-Free Ginger Snaps, pulsed in the food processor to make crumbs; the ginger was a delicious accent and held up quite well. My only comment, use a food processor, I tried to break these cookies up by hand first (to save myself some washing) and they are much too hard, you need the food processor.

Mmm, pumpkin cheesecake pie was a hit with the whole family, even those who don’t care for traditional pumpkin pie.

gf-004

