After living in our home for over a year, we finally had a few friends over for a BBQ last night. We spent some time cleaning up, I worked in the garden, and of course I had some work to do in the kitchen.

We had BBQ Chicken Breasts (bone-in) and the BBQ rub from my last post won rave reviews. One friend even took home a copy of the recipe.

We also had homemade Maui-style ribs and although I vary the recipe a little bit each time I make it, this time was one of the best; delicious, juicy and of course Gluten-Free. Please note, I generally cook by feel (especially for marinades), so the quantites in this recipe are approximate at best, definitely take the time to adapt the recipe to your families taste buds!

The first thing to note is that I have stopped using my expensive gluten-free tamari for marinade, I am now using the super cheap, non-fermented soya sauce available at Safeway (look for the cheapest bottle at your local store, I was amazed to find that there was no wheat ingredients). I would never use it on its own as it is not all that tasty, but it works great in a marinade.

Secondly, I wanted to point out the addition of 7-up to the marinade. This is something I have long used for Chicken Wings, and although I have often thought of it, this is the first time I actually used it in a beef marinade. I am confident this really helped with keeping the meat sweet and juicy!!

Gluten-Free Maui Rib Marinade

ingredients (amounts are approximate):

  • Beef Short Ribs, thin cut (maui-style)
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1.5 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp Braggs GF seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp ketchup
  • 1/4 cup Gluten-Free Soya Sauce
  • 1/4 cup 7-up

Combine all ingredients (except ribs) and mix well. Place in an airtight container with the ribs for 4 hours to a few days. Cook them on the BBQ and enjoy!!

