I met a girl, living the Gluten-Free life while at a forum for work this week.  I could tell she felt awkward, but she asked me about my ethnicity.  You see I am half-Chinese, but often mistaken for full.  She couldn’t resist asking; from her observations, over the past 7 years, she has noticed a trend toward individuals of Irish or Native American descent being Gluten-Free.

Although I certainly do have some Native, and likely some Irish from my mother’s, Caucasian, side of the family, I firmly believe that my Dad (who suffers from symptoms very similar to my own) may actually be the genetic source of my problems.  As to be expected, I get a lot of things from my Dad, not the least of which, is my love of food, of cooking and preparing a meal, of creating baked goods that intoxicate the nostrils with their deliciousness.  Suffice it to say, much of my cooking abilities are a result of hours spent watching/helping my Dad cook.

I have previously alluded to my love of Asian food, but recently realized I haven’t shared any of my recipes.  This is at least partially due to the fact that there really is no recipe; my Dad taught me to cook, the way he was taught, using the senses – touch, site, smell.  Despite this, I was eager to attempt to share my Gluten-Free adaptation of one of my favourties – the Beef and Broccoli my dear old Dad taught me to make.

Note, I have not included quanties for either the meat or the broccoli.  A small pack of flank steak from the grocery store should do, a little meat goes a long way in Chinese cooking.  With regard to the broccoli, traditional Asian recipes use lots of veggies, but I say use a little, use a lot, do what feels good – make it the way you (and your family) like it best.

Gluten-Free Beef and Broccoli

Ingredients:

  • Flank Steak
  • Broccoli
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 Tbsp GF Tamari
  • 1/4 cup Braggs seasoning
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1.5 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup of warm water

* available at an Asian Grocery store

  1. Slice flank steak, across the grain, into long strips – set aside in a medium bowl.
  2. Cut top and bottom off of onion, cut in half so that you have 2 half circles.  Slice onions lengthwise (they shouldn’t look like rings) and add to the flank steak.
  3. Cut broccoli into small pieces – set aside.
  4. Mix together the remaining ingredients (except vegetable oil, cornstarch and water) in a small bowl.
  5. Pour sauce over steak and onions – stir until all meat and onions are coated.  Cover and allow to marinate a minimum of 1 hour.  (Leaving it overnight, or even two nights yields delicious results!)
  6. Heat vegetable oil in a wok or large frying pan over medium-high heat.
  7. Once the oil is hot, add the meat mixture.  Cover with a lid, stirring occasionally until the onions have softened and the steak is no longer pink.
  8. Add the broccoli and stir until coated with sauce.  Cover with a lid, stirring occasionally until the broccoli is bright green and cooked to your tastes.
  9. Stir cornstarch into warm water and mix well.  Pour into the Beef and Broccoli and stir well.  Once sauce has thickened, Immediatley remove from heat.
  10. Serve in a bowl with steaming hot rice and chopsticks.  Enjoy!
